Preschool Programs

Magnets_preschool

Budding Bookworms every Monday! 

Story time is now @ the Lab! Bring your preschooler to listen and enjoy an engaging story you both can talk about all day long together! Meet your friends and make new ones at this program included with a same day General Admission ticket.

Dates Offered:

Monday, May 29, 2017:  Are You a Bee? By Judy Allen and Tudor Humphries, followed  by a fuzzy bee and flower game.

Monday, June 5, 2017: The Bumble Bee Queen by April Pulley Sayre, followed by building a Plasterer Bee burrow.

Monday, June 19, 2017:  Give Bees a Chance by Bethany Barton, followed by an investigation as to why bees are so important.

Monday, June 26, 2017: Can You Tell a Bee From a Wasp by Buffy Silverman, followed by learning to tell a yellow jacket from a honey bee.

 

Monday, July 3, 2017: The Sea That Feeds Us by Robert F. Baldwin. Create a sea creature web of life.

Monday, July 10, 2017: Jenny Jellyfish: A Tale of Wiggly Jellies by Susan Tate followed by hands-on journey with a jellyfish and experiment with osmosis.

Monday, July 17, 2017: Clownfish and Sea Anemones Work Together by Martha E. H. Rustad followed by make an anemone hat to play a clown fish game.

Monday, July 24, 2017: Star of the Sea: A Day in the Life of a Starfish by Janet Halfmann followed by searching for starfish during a starfish treasure hunt.

July 31, 2017: Oozy Octopus: A Tale of a Clever Critter by Susan Tate followed by hide and seek Octopus style!

 

 

Budding Scientist Every Friday!

Do you have a Budding Scientist? Join us at the Children’s Science Center Lab for a special program designed just for preschool aged children and an engaged accompanying adult!

This program is included with same day paid admission to the Children’s Science Center Lab.

Friday, 11:00 – 12:00 pm

Program is most appropriate for children ages 2-5, accompanied by an engaged adult.  Space is limited. First come, first served.

Dates Offered:

During the month of June, our Budding Scientist will engage in discovery-based activities that allow them to explore and investigate the science of Bees and their importance in the environment.

Friday, June 2, 2017: What makes a bee a bee?

Friday, June 9, 2017: Have you ever seen a burrowing bee?

Friday, June 16, 2017: Why do honey bees dance?

Friday, June 23, 2017: Why are bees so important?

Friday, June 30, 2017: What is the difference between a wasp and a bee?

 

Join us for Budding Scientists in July to explore the SEAS!

Friday, July 7, 2017: Squishy Squashy Seas

Friday, July 14, 2017: Are Jellyfish really fish made of jelly?

Friday, July 21, 2017: Anemones Aren’t Enemies.

Friday, July 28, 2017: The Stars of the Sea

Friday, August 4, 2017: The Oozy Octopus is Actually a Mollusk

 

Schedule and theme are subject to change. Please visit our Calendar of events.